Designer Spotlight: Cecilie Manz

Charis Raji
3 min readNov 5, 2023

--

Image from Google

Hi there,

The last (designer) spotlight we worked on was about Deniz Aktay, back in May; that’s a long time. If you’re yet to read about it, feel free to catch up here.

As I hinted in the first post, I’m making this a (monthly) series where I focus on products, furniture, collections and designs that take my fancy or who I think you may want to know about and check. You can’t tell if you’ll give them a follow or shop one of their pieces.

Today’s second designer spotlight is on Cecilie Manz, a Danish industrial designer. Born in Denmark’s Odsherred region on the island of New Zealand, her body of work spans sculpture, lamps, furniture and jewellery.

Cecile has designed for internationally known brands including Muuto, Fritz Hansen, Lightyears, and Fredericia Furniture and one of her creations, the Mikado table was included in MOMA’s design collection.

Her work with furniture, ceramics, lighting and glass has received international acclaim and is sold and exhibited all over the world. She has been part of the Muuto family since the very beginning.

Cecilie’s Design Philosophy

I design things that have meaning to me. My general objective is to always have a clear argument that legitimizes the designs that I make. Function is essential and if I cannot formulate a good reason for a product to exist, it’s better to refrain from making it.

Cecilie’s work has always revolved around simplicity, the process of working towards a pure, aesthetic and furniture object.

Cecilie’s Works

Minuscule chair for Fritz Hansen
Minuscule chair for Fritz Hansen
Pouf made for the exhibition ‘Cecilie Manz — Objects’.
One of Cecile’s chairs for Muuto
Airy chair by Cecile Munz
Airy chair by Cecile Munz
Airy chair by Cecile Munz

To access the rest of Cecile’s body of work, check her website and Instagram.

--

--